गुरु घासीदास विश्‍वविद्यालय, बिलासपुर

Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya, Bilaspur

A Central University established by the Central Universities Act 2009 No. 25 of 2009

About Department of Management Studies

Responding to the changing and increasing needs for professional education and training in Management, the Department of Management Studies was established in 1988. The Department prepares students to become effective managers in the new economic era, and the emphasis is always on quality education and promoting a culture of enquiry and enterprise.

The Vision:

The Department strives to carve out a niche for itself to be among the leading management schools in India. Students have successfully been educated and trained by the Department and have been placed in reputed business houses in India and abroad, in the fields of banking and finance, marketing, general management, and academics. Many are successfully managing their own business establishments.

Courses offered:

The Department offers three programmes namely,

1. Master of Business Administration,

2. Doctoral Research in Management, and

3. Four years Bachelor's Programme in Hotel Management (BHM)

  •  The Master of Business Administration (MBA) is a two-year Full-Time programme. Admission to the MBA program for the session 2022-23 will be through CUET (PG) to be conducted by National Testing Agency (NTA), New Delhi.
  •  Admission into the Doctoral Research in Management programme is done through the score in the Vishwavidyalaya Research Entrance Test (VRET) and the PhD regulations of the University.
  •  Admission for BHM Programme for the session 2022-23 will be through CUET (UG) 2022 being conducted by National Testing Agency (NTA), New Delhi.

Academic contribution of the faculty members during the last five years :

  • Prof. S.V.S. Chauhan, Prof. Harish Kumar, Prof. L.P. Pateriya and Dr. B.D. Mishra, acted as a resource person and delivered lectures in the Refresher Course and Orientation programme conducted by UGC HRD Centre, GGV, Bilaspur. Moreover, they chaired the technical sessions as Chairperson in the different International and National Conferences.
  • Prof. S.V.S. Chauhan and Prof. Dr. Harish Kumar visited various Institutes as a member coordinator of NAAC peer team during the last five years.
  • Dr. B.D. Mishra was the Convenor, Dr. (Mrs.) B.B. Pandey was the Organizing Secretary and Prof. Dr. Harish Kumar, Prof. Dr. S.V.S. Chauhan and Prof. Dr. L.P. Pateriya were the members of the Advisory Committee of the two days National Seminar organized by the department on 16th & 17th Nov, 2017 on the topic �Development of Tourism Industry in India: Issues & Challenges� which was sponsored by Ministry of Tourism, Government of India, New Delhi.
  • Prof. Dr. Harish Kumar, Prof. Dr. S.V.S. Chauhan, Prof. Dr. L.P. Pateriya chaired the technical sessions as Chairperson in the International Conference on Bharat Rejuvenation: From Glorious Past to Modern Era, organized by GGV, Bilaspur.
  • Dr. B.D. Mishra delivered a lecture at Chhattisgarh Judicial Academy, Bilaspur and presided the technical session as well as presented a paper at International Symposium on Infrastructure Financing at IIT Karaghpur. He chaired a session at the National seminar on Challenges for Quality of Life of Working Women in Contemporary India, organized by the Dept. of Social Work, Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya, Bilaspur and delivered a lecture as a Resource person at the National Seminar on �Resurgent Rural India: The Paradigm Shift�, organized by Department of Commerce, Utkal University, Bhubaneswar, Odisha. He also acted as a Coordinator of Refresher Course on Economics organized by HRD Centre, Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya, Bilaspur.
  • Dr. L.P. Pateriya as a Chief Election Commissioner successfully conducted the Student�s Council Election in the university.
  • Dr. (Mrs.) BB Pandey co-chaired a session in a seminar organized by the Department of Social Work, Guru Ghasidas Vishwavidyalaya, Bilaspur.
  • During the last five years the faculties of the department have published 51 papers in different national and international journals and participated in 40 National/International Conferences/Seminars.

Achievement of the Students :During the last five years the students of the department participated in Campus Placement conducted by different companies like Ways2Capital, Indore, ICICI Prudential, Raipur, Renault, Bilaspur, Genpact, Delhi, ICICI Life Insurance, Karvy Stock Broking Pvt. Ltd. Hyderabad, C Core Technologies, Lucknow, Capital Height, Fullerton India Credit, HDFC Bank, Shriram Motor Finance, Bharti Airtel, Bajaj Allianz, Narmada Drinks Pvt. Ltd., Micro Housing Finance Corporation, Ultra Tech, etc. and a total of 78 students have been successfully placed. Placement detail is enclosed.

Placement Detail

S.No. Year Total No. of Students Placed Total No. of Company Visited
01 2015-16 16 05
02 2016-17 08 01
03 2017-18 33 07
04 2018-19 21 04

Future Plans :

The Department plans to open new specialisations in the area of international business and Systems management with the availability of new faculty. The Department is in the process of strengthening industry � institute relationships through signing memorandum of understanding (MoUs) with different industry houses.

Important Link

S.No.TitleUpload DateFile
1 Webinar Summary Report on "Financial Literacy & Introduction to Securities Market" 09-05-2022
2 Research Methodology Workshop Report 09-05-2022
3 Admission to BHM Programme 2022-23 26-04-2022
4 List of students receiving scholarships, Financial assistance 09-02-2022
5 List of students receiving scholarships, Financial assistance 09-02-2022
6 Mentor Mentee 24-11-2021
7 Extension of approval letters received from AICTE for the academic year 2010-11 & 2013-14
8 MBA Programe Course Outcome
9 Project Internship
10 Minutes (DMS)
11 List of Subjects (DMS)
12 Handbook 2020-21

Other Links

S.No.TitleUpload DateFile
1 Dr. (Smt.) B B Pandey Ph.D Degree Certificate 29-06-2022
2 Dr. Biswadeep Mishra Ph.D Degree Certificate 29-06-2022
3 Dr. Teju Kujur Ph.D Degree Certificate 29-06-2022
4 Prof. Harish Kumar Ph.D Degree Certificate 29-06-2022
5 Prof. L P Pateriya Ph.D Degree Certificate 29-06-2022
6 Dr. Biswadeep Mishra Appointment Order 28-06-2022
7 Prof. Harish Kumar Appointment Letter 28-06-2022
8 Dr. Teju Kujur Appointment Letter 28-06-2022
9 Dr. (Smt.) B B Pandey Appointment Letter 28-06-2022
10 Miss Harsha Sahu Appointment Letter 28-06-2022
11 Mrs. Ankita Mishra Appointment Letter 28-06-2022
12 Prof. L P Pateriya Appointment Letter 28-06-2022
13 Dr. Biswadeep Mishra Joining Letter 28-06-2022
14 Dr. (Smt.) B B Pandey Joining Letter 28-06-2022
15 Miss Harsha Sahu Joining Letter 28-06-2022
16 Mrs. Ankita Mishra Joining Letter 28-06-2022
17 Prof. Harish Kumar Joining Letter 28-06-2022
18 Prof. L P Pateriya Joining Letter 28-06-2022
19 Dr. Teju Kujur Joining Letter 28-06-2022